Tag Archives: Felicity Carrol mysteries

Felicity Carrol ‘Murderous Menace’ sale ends Oct. 31

Standard

“Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace” is an Amazon Kindle deal through Oct. 31 for $2.99.

Heiress and amateur detective Felicity Carrol sets out to catch a notorious murderer who terrorized England and now continues his vicious killing spree in America.

“This colorful, action-filled mystery presents a novel twist.”—Kirkus Reviews

“[An] entrancing sequel…Fans of Laurie King and Jacqueline Winspear will be thrilled by this capable, independent female protagonist.”
Publishers Weekly

Enjoy excerpt from ‘Murderous Menace’– A Kindle special this month

Standard

Enjoy this excerpt from “Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace” — an Amazon Kindle Deal for July. Get your copy for $2.99 thru 7/31.

Heiress and amateur detective Felicity Carrol makes a perilous journey to apprehend a notorious murderer who has terrorized England–and now continues his vicious killing spree across the pond.

 

Placer,
Montana

 

            Felicity and Helen stepped out of the stagecoach and the ground shook. Horses clomped dirt. Buildings tremored.

“My heavens,” exclaimed Helen who turned around and tried to get back in the coach.

“What an introduction,” said Felicity, who gently tugged on the back of Helen’s dress to stop her. “We’ve come all this way, Hellie. We can’t go back now.”

“Oh, yes, we can.”

Felicity straightened her velvet hat while their trunks were removed from the coach. At a café across from the station, a man leaned against the porch. A star glinted on his leather vest. A lawman of the West, how exciting just to see one. She noticed how he examined the face of every man in the vicinity. He was searching for someone, and from his severe gaze, she was glad it was not her.

Then the man’s focus landed on Felicity and Helen, and he ambled toward them as if he had more than time on his side.

“This is our lucky day, Helen. I wanted to meet the sheriff, and I believe here he comes.”

“I wouldn’t call that lucky,” Helen replied and pulled at her wrinkled dress. “He’s probably come to throw us out of town.”

“Don’t be so negative, Hellie.” Even if he threw them out, she’d come back, because she had a goal to achieve.

The sheriff walked straight, though perhaps a little too much so, as if he only followed a path he trusted. With his longish dark brown hair, he could have been a good-looking, young Allan Quartermain pursuing adventure in Africa rather than upholding the law in an unruly Montana town. Almost as if he had heard her thoughts, the man licked his fingers to tame a few unruly strands of hair behind his ears.

Pay attention, Felicity chided herself. You’re acting like a silly schoolgirl, not that you were ever were one. 

“Welcome to Placer,” the sheriff told Felicity. His voice sounded of an American sunset, rich and rough.

“This place is certainly a long way from New York.”

“Or anywhere.” Helen adjusted her hat. “My insides have never been so shaken around as in that contraption.” Her thumb pointed back at the stagecoach. “And what in blazes was that explosion all about then?”

            He noted his short shadow, took the watch out of a vest pocket, and smiled. “Wait one more minute, ma’am.”

            Helen mouthed “ma’am” to Felicity and they both tried not to laugh.

A whistle blew in the distance, and the whole town rattled. In the street, horses reared and whinnied. Dogs barked. Windows shook.

“Another earthquake!” Helen started to climb back into the stagecoach, and Felicity
again pulled at the back of her dress.

“No earthquake, Helen. A dynamite explosion. If I’m not mistaken, the sound originated from the west.”

            “You’re right, ma’am. It’s the noontime blasting at the mines.” The sheriff scratched his head.

From his face, Felicity could tell he was wondering how a woman knew about dynamite.

            “I suppose the blasting takes place during the day so as not to wake everyone,” she said.

            “That’s the general idea. You two sound British.”

            “Your powers of observation are keen. Are you the welcoming committee?” The corners of Felicity’s mouth quirked up with mischievousness. The sheriff replied with a smile he probably used to impress women.

“Sheriff Tom Pike at your service.” He tipped up his hat.

            “This is fortuitous. Exactly the person I wanted to meet,” Felicity said.

            “How lucky can a fella get?”

Brilliant. Another sarcastic man. Her mouth straightened with determination. “I’ve come to Placer to learn about the murder of Lily Rawlins.”

Pike lost his amiable exterior and instead became a wooden pillar.

She pointed at the star on his chest. “You are the sheriff aren’t you?”

            “Last I looked, ma’am.”

            “Enough ma’am. My name is Felicity Carrol, and this is Miss Helen Wilkins.”

            Pike shook their hands. “A pleasure. But what’s all this about Lily Rawlins? You a Pinkerton detective or something?”

            Helen laughed.

            “Heavens no. But what a delightful compliment.” Felicity’s eyes widened.

“When you came out of stagecoach, I told myself spring had arrived. Lovely and refreshing like the flowers on the mountainside,” Pike said.

“How poetic of you, Sheriff.”

“Then you opened your mouth.” Pike’s brow creased with irritation.

Even in America, I have this effect on men, Felicity thought. But she couldn’t worry about annoying this interesting fellow.

“Hundreds of people from all over the United States and other countries land in Placer to work in the mines and smelters or to seek their own golden vein in the ground. It’s my duty to find out who’s arrived in my town.”

“Not only poetic but efficient,” Felicity said.

“You two are among the most extraordinary I’ve ever seen.”

            “How kind of you. Wait, was that a compliment?” Felicity said.

“I’m not sure.”

“Now about Lily Rawlins.”

 “This is some sort of record, ma’am. You got into town a few minutes ago and have put me in a god awful mood.”

            “I suspect you woke up that way, Sheriff,” Felicity replied.

            “Why you asking about Big Lil? Her death isn’t exactly the nicest subject for a lady to discuss.” His tone turned harsh as if he hoped to scare her away.

            Felicity brushed dust from her skirt. “My dear sheriff, if you’re not a lady then how can you determine what is proper?”

 

‘Murderous Menace’ is Amazon July deal

Standard

“Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace” is an Amazon Kindle Deal for July. Get your copy for $2.99 thru 7/31.

Heiress and amateur detective Felicity Carrol makes a perilous journey to apprehend a notorious murderer who has terrorized England–and now continues his vicious killing spree across the pond.

“This colorful, action-filled mystery presents a novel twist.”—Kirkus Reviews

“[An] entrancing sequel… “—Publishers Weekly

‘Murderous Menace’ is May Kindle deal

Standard

Amazon has chosen “Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace” as a Kindle Monthly Deal. It will be priced at $2.99 thru May.”

This colorful, action-filled mystery presents a novel twist.”—Kirkus Reviews

Heiress and amateur detective Felicity Carrol makes a perilous journey to apprehend a notorious murderer who has terrorized England–and now continues his vicious killing spree across the pond.

Felicity Carrol would rather be doing just about anything other than attending balls or seeking a husband. What she really wants to do is continue her work using the latest forensic methods and her photographic memory to help London police bring murderers to justice, so when her friend, Scotland Yard Inspector Jackson Davies, weak from injury, discovers a murder in a wild mining town in Montana that echoes the terrible crimes in England, Felicity decides to go herself.

In Placer, Montana, her first obstacle is handsome lawman Thomas Pike, who uses his intuition as much as his Colt in keeping law and order in this unruly town. When the murderer strikes again, Felicity begins to suspect Davies is correct: Jack the Ripper has come to America. Felicity sets out to find the killer in a town chock full of secrets, shadows, and suspects, but as the body count rises, this intrepid sleuth faces her most dangerous adversary yet–and discovers that not all killers are as they seem.

Felicity Carrol and the Perilous Pursuit ebook on sale this month

Standard

“Felicity Carrol and the Perilous Pursuit” is selected as an Amazon’s Kindle Monthly Deal for $1.99 through the month of April. 

When her mentor is brutally killed, the brilliant wealthy and eccentric Felicity Carrol investigates, but as the murders continue she finds the case could rock the kingdom, all amidst the heraldry of Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee celebration.

“Marcantonio brings her characters to life through vivid storytelling [and] really does an excellent job of keeping her protagonist one step ahead of the reader.”
New York Journal of Books

“[Felicity] is a combination of Sherlock Holmes and Indiana Jones.”
Historical Novels Review

‘Perilous Pursuit’ ebook on sale

Standard

Enjoy a mystery this holiday season. FELICITY CARROL AND THE PERILOUS PURSUIT ebook is on sale for $1.99 all through December.

Felicity Carrol is interested in everything—except being a proper young matron of Victorian society. Brilliant and resourceful, she took refuge in science and education after her mother died and her father abandoned her to servants. Now, all he wants is for her to marry into a family of status and money.

Felicity has other ambitions—but her plans shudder to a halt when her mentor is murdered at the British Museum and his priceless manuscript of King Arthur lore is stolen. Tapping into her photographic memory and the latest in the burgeoning field of forensic detection, Felicity launches an investigation. Handsome Scotland Yard Inspector Jackson Davies is also on the case, and finds Felicity as meddlesome as she is intelligent. But when more nobles are murdered and their King Arthur relics stolen, Felicity must journey on her own into the dark underworld of antiquity theft, where she uncovers a motive far more nefarious than simple profit.

As the killer sets his sights on a new victim—a charismatic duke who has captured Felicity’s imagination—the stakes rise to impossible heights. It’s a case that could shake the kingdom.

Felicity Carrol and the Perilous Pursuit

“Marcantonio brings her characters to life through vivid storytelling [and] really does an excellent job of keeping her protagonist one step ahead of the reader.”
New York Journal of Books

“[Felicity] is a combination of Sherlock Holmes and Indiana Jones..”
Historical Novels Review

“A must read. It has it all, an intelligent heroine, a compelling plot and plenty of Victorian atmosphere to keep you entertained to the very last page.”
—Emily Brightwell, New York Times bestselling author of the Mrs. Jefferies mysteries